16th December: Changing Nappy

When I first signed up for being an Au Pair I could choose what at what age I would prefer the children to be. Back then I would’ve never imagined I would be looking after a 13 months old girl during my time here.

But that changed on the 14th November when I moved in with my gap family and started looking after their little girl the next morning. At 8.30am my day started with breakfast and after that I kept an eye on the girl, while the parents went next door to work for a bit.
She usually would take a nap around 10-11am and would give me a little break.

All we did on that first day was play together and get to know each other. Because it was the first day it was really important that she would get used to me so she would be comfortable when her parents leave her with me. Luckily she was really good and would only start crying when she gets tired but even then I was able to get her to calm down a bit by carrying her around.
At 3pm the day was already over and gave me a bit time to explore the area where they live.

The next day started just like the one before and after her nap the mum proposed to go to the Park together. She would come with me this one time so I’d know where it is the next time and could take her on my own. At the Park we first went to the playground and let her swing for a bit and then walked the big round through the park. From the park we went to the local Sainsbury, where she bought all kinds of food for me for the next few days, as they were going on a holiday.
When we came back we had lunch and then it was back to normal until I was free again at 3pm.

The next morning I could have lie in, since the family went on their holiday early that morning and I was off work until Tuesday. Luckily they let me stay in their house for the time being, so I was able to stay in London without paying anything for a place to live.
I took the chance of the free weekend and went out a bit. I went back to central London and to see my friends again.

After the family came back late on Tuesday night, I had to be back to work at 8.30am on Wednesday morning. At the beginning everything was back to normal, except for her having to get used to me again. But that wasn’t a problem at all and we could go to the park after her nap. Once again we went to the playground first and then walked around the park a bit.

At one point she suddenly started crying – no screaming and wouldn’t stop anymore. I tried everything and the best solution was to carry her around a bit, but she still wouldn’t stop so I walked back home with her.
The only problem was that she wouldn’t stop at home and her parents couldn’t get her to stop either. After lunch and trying to get her to play a bit, we gave up and I was finished at 2.30pm already. I believe she was just a bit puzzled with the times, as they went to Poland which is one hour before english time.

But sadly it wasn’t getting better the next day. You can even say that it got worse.
On Thursday she wouldn’t stay with me in the room at all. As soon as the parents left the room she would start crying and wouldn’t stop anymore. I was getting really desperate and started to question myself if I was doing something wrong. In the end it was probably just a stomach ache, as she wouldn’t eat properly and had other symptoms too.

I was also worried, because her mum had to go to central London for a few hours the next day and I would be mostly alone with her, except for her father who had to work.
Since it would be only me and her father, they asked me to change the working hours and rather work from 10am to 5pm. When I came down in the mornings, the father asked me if I could just start after her nap, around 11/11.30am and then work until 6pm. As I haven’t planned anything for the night it was completely fine with me.

Luckily the day went better than expected. She was really good and rarely cried. We even were able to go out for a bit. Since I didn’t want to take her back to the park just yet, we just went out into the backyard. We had a lot of fun out there looking at all the airplanes. They live pretty far in the North of London and therefore the planes are already quite low in the sky and provide a good distraction for little children. I even learned the polnish word for airplane during my time with them: samolot.

After another work free weekend, I started on Monday for my last day with them. I was really happy that she was back to normal and I had once again a good day with her. This time we even went back to the Park. But once again she would start crying, only this time I was able to quieten her down. The trick was to give her a Cini Mini every time she started crying again. With this trick I was able to finish the big round through the park and walk back home with a minimum of crying.

01ab2438c28f68742bb0ed715dea78231e3605b6c0

New week new chances

It was really satisfying to finally be able to handle the little girl on my own without much trouble. Especially because I was able to stop her from crying without her parents interfering.
Even though it was a great experience I’m quite happy that the children of my new family are a bit older. It’s just easier when the children can talk and can actually tell you what is bothering them.

Looking back I’m really happy and grateful that they gave me the opportunity to stay with them and to work with their daughter, as it was a good experience.

Love,
Vicky! Xx

Leave a Reply

